wrap-up: books read in February 2017

 

29344653 518f2bgo8wyl-_sx312_bo1204203200_ 51gy2mlxabl-_sx328_bo1204203200_ 9780141182797 41qt2bdwy5l-_sx336_bo1204203200_

House of Names by Colm Tóibín ★★★ + review

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn ★★★★

All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood ★★ + review on goodreads

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote ★★★613zgihvtbl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

The Cripple of Inishmaan by Martin McDonagh ★★★ + review

Things We Lost in the Fire by Mariana Enriquez ★★★ + review

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee ★★★★★ + review

Translations by Brian Friel ★★★★★ + review

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie ★★★★★

An Iliad by Lisa Peterson & Denis O’Hare ★★★★★ + review

The Crucible by Arthur Miller ★★★★

29983711 859500 16299 26127300 17250

All in all, a pretty good month!  I’m not going to do a monthly TBR on this blog because what I decide to read next changes on a whim, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to have my monthly books all in one place.  Here are the highlights of my first wrap-up:

Best: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee
Runner up: Translations by Brian Friel
Worst: All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

I can’t believe I read four 5 star books in a row.  As much as I love reading I tend to err on the side of critical, so the fact that I only ended up with one 2-star book this month is pretty impressive.

Have you guys read any of these books?  What was your favorite read from February?

13 thoughts on “wrap-up: books read in February 2017

    • Oh cool, thanks for the rec! I’ll have to check it out. And yes, House of Names comes out in May – I got an advanced copy from Netgalley. It’s a bit of a departure for him, it’s a retelling of a Greek tragedy where Clytemnestra murders her husband Agamemnon when he returns from the Trojan war. I really like his writing style and have enjoyed him in the past but I had mixed feelings on this one. I’m curious how you’ll find it, as a Toibin fan!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And to be fair I think most people associate the story with Audrey Hepburn more than Truman Capote! I’m a huge fan of In Cold Blood but this is the first of his fiction that I’ve read, I can’t say I loved the story but I do quite like his writing style.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t seen the movie! But I’m hardly one to judge because I LOVED the book. It was thoroughly disturbing in that it explored a perspective that I probably would have been more comfortable not knowing? But it was so compelling and morbidly fascinating. Very highly recommended!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

