not strictly book related: desert island discs

I saw Callum do this tag a few weeks ago and I couldn’t resist.

You are cast away onto a remote island:

  • You can bring 5 albums, what are they?
  • You can bring ONE book (not including The Bible (or other appropriate religious texts) or The Complete Works of Shakespeare, as they are already provided and NO SERIES), what ONE book is it?
  • You can have one luxury item (it has to be inanimate and can’t help you escape the island), what is it?

5 ALBUMS:

Radiohead – In Rainbows

I’m obsessed with Radiohead, to the point where I considered throwing OK Computer in the mix as well.  But I couldn’t justify giving one band two albums.  Anyway, if I had to choose just one, it would have to be In Rainbows.  Between Nude, Reckoner, Weird Fishes/Arpeggi, and Jigsaw Falling Into Place, I can’t sacrifice this one.  Seriously, just listen to this song.

The National – High Violet

My other main obsession in the music world.  Conversation 16 is my favorite song, ever, but even if it weren’t for that, I’d still have to choose this album, which I think is The National at their best.  (I was about to say that there isn’t a single song I dislike, but I realized that isn’t true – thanks a lot, Lemonworld).  But even so, loving 11/12 songs isn’t bad at all.

David Bowie – Blackstar

Like the majority of the classic rock loving world, I was devastated when David Bowie died, and listened to this album on repeat for weeks.  I really do think it’s something of a masterpiece.  And while Lazarus and Blackstar got most of the attention, I actually think Dollar Days is the saddest and most haunting track off this album, and Bowie’s eulogy to himself.  Anyway, over a year later I’m still obsessed with this album, and would hate to part with it.

Pearl Jam – Ten

This was tricky.  I’m obsessed with Pearl Jam, but unlike my other favorite bands where all of my favorite songs tend to be concentrated on one album, with Pearl Jam they’re spread across the board.  Actually, if you take my five favorite Pearl Jam songs – Corduroy, Sirens, Black, Rearviewmirror, and Hail Hail – they’re all off different albums.  Quite the dilemma.  But I think that I find Pearl Jam’s debut album, Ten, to be the most satisfying as a cohesive unit, and it’s what first got me into Pearl Jam a million years ago, so it seemed appropriate.

Incubus – Make Yourself

And finally, a throwback to my teenage years, when I was absolutely obsessed with Incubus.  I’ve seen them in concert twice, own all of their albums, own a couple of their albums in vinyl, and have approximately three of their band t-shirts.  Oh, and I still have a massive Incubus poster on my wall.  I should probably replace that with something more timely, come to think of it.  Anyway.  The point is, this band meant an awful lot to me, and being stranded on a deserted island seems like the perfect time for the sort of personal reflection that only listening to your favorite band from high school can induce.

1 BOOK:

1371

Easy.  The Iliad by Homer.  I’m stuck on an island with nothing to do but read, so obviously I’m going to want something that will keep me busy for a while.  At 683 pages, this is the perfect solution.  But more importantly, this is a book that I can get something new out of every time I read it.  I’ve only read it twice so far, but both times were a completely different experience for me.  There are so many names and places to keep track of here, it’s going to be able to keep me mentally stimulated even if I have nothing better to do than read it cover to cover ten times.

1 LUXURY ITEM:

Hmm.  I’m boring and practical, so I’m going to say a blanket.  I imagine deserted islands get cold at night.

So, there’s a bit about me.  I also want to stress that it was incredibly difficult to narrow this down.  I like a really wide array of music, mostly under the general ‘rock’ umbrella, but not always; some others that I considered were Daughter, Nirvana, Joseph, Sia, Ben Howard, Troye Sivan, Iron and Wine, First Aid Kit, Oasis, Soley, Ms Mr, Metric, Chelsea Wolfe, One Direction (really), Razorlight, Woodkid, Arcade Fire, James Vincent McMorrow, London Grammar, etc etc etc.

What kind of music do you guys like?

One thought on “not strictly book related: desert island discs

Leave a Reply

