25 at 25

Happy birthday to me.  In honor of turning 25 (yikes), I wanted to celebrate the milestone by documenting my top 25 books at this point in my life.  Vaguely in order but also not really.  Also excluding plays, because that would make this far too difficult.

  1. JK Rowling, the Harry Potter series
  2. Victor Hugo, Les Miserables
  3. Homer, The Iliad
  4. Kazuo Ishiguro, Never Let Me Go
  5. Hanya Yanagihara, A Little Life
  6. Donna Tartt, The Secret History
  7. W. Somerset Maugham, Of Human Bondage
  8. Celeste Ng, Everything I Never Told You
  9. Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar
  10. Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre
  11. John Steinbeck, East of Eden
  12. Kate Chopin, The Awakening
  13. Dante, The Divine Comedy
  14. Min Jin Lee, Pachinko
  15. Emily St. John Mandel, Station Eleven
  16. Hannah Kent, Burial Rites
  17. Vergil, The Aeneid
  18. Ken Follett, The Pillars of the Earth
  19. Anthony Doerr, All The Light We Cannot See
  20. George Orwell, 1984
  21. Lisa See, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
  22. Vladimir Nabokov, Lolita
  23. Daphne du Maurier, Rebecca
  24. Truman Capote, In Cold Blood
  25. Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

So there you have it.  What are your all-time favorites?  And what must-reads am I missing from my list?  Comment and let me know!  And thanks to everyone who reads my blog.  You guys are awesome and I hope you have a great day.

17 thoughts on “25 at 25

    • Thanks Callum! I’d be curious to see your list, it seems like we have similar tastes 🙂 I’ve been wanting to compile a list of my all time favorites, and this seemed like a pretty good excuse.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I will stay tuned then!!

        It was definitely tricky narrowing it down. I sort of cheated by axing plays altogether, but if I’d included them I’d still be agonizing over this list a month from now.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oooh happy birthday, dear! I hope you’re having a lovely day!! ❤ This is a great post and idea, I love your list. I'll be reading Rebecca in April and I'm really looking forward to it, plus I'm once again reminded about the fact that I still need to get to Pachinko!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday Rachel, and what a great idea to compile a list of your favourites to date! There are so many here I still have to get to! So many books, so little time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love Station Eleven so much. I don’t re-read books very often, but it was chosen as a book club selection after I’d already read it, and I got even more out of it the second time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

