Listicle Tag

Thanks to Steph @ Lost Purple Quill for tagging me!  This tag was created by Not-So-Modern-Girl.

Rules

  • Create your own listicle tag, using the prompt from the person who tagged you.
  • Tag the creator of the post (not-so-modern-girl!) so that I can read all your brilliant posts and see how the joy of listicles is being spread.
  • Nominate as many people as you want!
  • Set those 5 people the subject/prompt of their listicle post!

listicle-meaning-w300

Steph’s prompt: Names! What are 5 different character names you love?

This is a really good question!  I feel like the fantasy genre has a lot of great names, but since I’m not a big fantasy reader let’s see what I can come up with…

  1. Andromache (The Iliad/mythology). Wife of Hector and mother of Astyanax, Andromache is one of my favorite underrated mythology ladies.  I love the way her name sounds, but more importantly, I love that it comes from the Greek for “man battler” or “fighter of men.”  Amazing.  Honestly, my top 5 could be mythology names alone.  But in an effort to branch out…
  2. Therese Belivet (The Price of Salt, Patricia Highsmith).  Pronounced ‘Terez.’  I’m not sure why I love this name so much, but I was really taken with it when I read The Price of Salt, and it sticks out to me for some reason.
  3. Daenerys Targaryen (A Song of Ice and Fire, George R.R. Martin). She may not be my favorite ASOIAF character (Sansa Stark is my queen), but I’ve always loved this name.  I love all the Targaryen names, really – Rhaegar and Viserys and Aerys are also great, and they all go so well with “Targaryen.”  Naming is something GRRM does incredibly well.  How he hasn’t run out of ideas for new names by now, I have no idea.  Has anyone ever counted how many characters are mentioned in this series?!
  4. Marius Pontmercy (Les Miserables, Victor Hugo).  I mean, “Jean Valjean” is pretty great as far as names go, but I’ve got to go with Marius.  I love the sound of both Marius and Pontmercy, and love how they sound together.  This has been my favorite Les Mis name since I first read it years ago.  Incidentally, also my favorite character.
  5. Jude St. Francis (A Little Life, Hanya Yanagihara).  This name is perfect on so many levels.  I love that ‘Jude’ is an androgynous name, which is appropriate given the ambiguity that surrounds the character’s identity (including the huge question mark about his ethnicity, etc); I love (and hate) the irony of Jude’s religious upbringing; and finally, of course, I love how it’s so painfully apt that Saint Jude is the patron saint of lost causes.  I was tempted to go with Willem Ragnarsson, a name I also love from A Little Life, but Jude St. Francis is too good.

Your listicle prompt: Villains!  Who are your top 5 fictional villains?

Tagging: Chelsea @ Spotlight on Stories // A Book Without End // Bentley @ Book Bastion // Hadeer @ Hadeer Writes

Or if you’d like to do it, consider yourself tagged!  Tag me back so I can see your answers 🙂

6 thoughts on “Listicle Tag

  1. Great names!! I am obsessed with names from mythology, the way they sound and their meanings are so fascinating and fun. And I love that you chose Marius, I’ve always loved his last name. And I like how when you love a character their name just grows on you so much. There are so many names that I was “eh” about, but then I read a character I loved with that name and suddenly its one of my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Totally!! I was going through Harry Potter names that I like and realizing that it’s not even the names themselves as much as the characters, they’ve just got such a strong association in my brain that I’m like ‘well CLEARLY Minerva McGonagall is the coolest name ever.’ Actually I’m rethinking HP names and sort of regretting not including Tom Marvolo Riddle – alas!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ahh Tom Marvolo Riddle is such a good one! I’ve always loved the last name Riddle. Honestly Harry Potter has so may good ones to choose from. I mean, some are bit obvious but that’s also part of the charm.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

