The One Lovely Blog Award

onelovelyblog

I was nominated by my lovely friend Chelsea @ Spotlight on Stories – go check out her blog if you haven’t already!  If you like my blog but wish I read more SFF (or wish I lived somewhere with a bigger theatre scene), you will love her reviews.

11l0upk

  • Thank the person that nominated you and leave a link to their blog.
  • Post about the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate at most 15 people.
  • Tell your nominees they’ve been nominated for one lovely award.

2h64k2e

  1. I’m an only child, and I love it.  I’m a dictionary definition introvert – I get really exhausted when I spend too much time around other people, need to be on my own to recharge, etc. – so I was always appreciative to have a lot of time on my own growing up.
  2. In that vein, I don’t want kids.  Never have.  I know I could always change my mind, but I’d wager a pretty large sum of money that I won’t.  There is nothing worse to me than the sound of a toddler shrieking.  (If I ever did change my mind, I would adopt, and that’s absolutely non-negotiable.)
  3. I’ve never had a nosebleed.  I’m not sure why that came to mind.
  4. My biggest claim to fame is that I once spent five hours stranded in an airport with Stephen Fishbach (a former two-time Survivor contestant) and we got to chatting for quite a while and he was very indignant on my behalf when it looked like I was going to miss my connection because of our absurdly long delay.  I made my connection.  Stephen Fishbach was pleased.
  5. I get more stressed out when I’m traveling with people than I do when I’m traveling alone.  The stakes feel higher, I guess, like if something goes wrong it’s not only my own day that’s being ruined.  If I’m on my own, it takes away a lot of that pressure.  Again, major introvert here.
  6. I hate to cook.  I’m not awful at it, but I’m not great, either, and it just stresses me out.
  7. I snuck into the Louvre once, but I have a kind of reasonable explanation for this.  Okay, so, I was in Paris with a friend a few years back, and we spent hours in the Louvre, and one sculpture we both really wanted to see was Psyche Revived by Cupid’s Kiss by Antonio Canova.  However, it’s in this one wing toward the entrance that we missed, and we decided we’d catch it on our way out.  Unfortunately, by the time we got there the museum was closing, and they wouldn’t let anyone into that wing.  The guard we were talking to saw how distraught we were, and said that if we wanted to come back the next day, we could text him and he’d let us in for free to see the sculpture.  So we got his number, came back the next day – the day we were leaving Paris – and texted him, but he could only text back on his break, and we didn’t hear back and time was running out before our train left.  My friend could get in for free anyway because she’s German and was an EU citizen and a student, but since I’m American, I would have had to pay the entry fee again, which felt a little ridiculous since I was just seeing one sculpture, which I’d already gotten permission to see for free by someone who worked there, who just didn’t happen to be available at that moment.  So I took out my student ID which just said the name of my University and not the country, flashed it to the person who was admitting us, put on a stupid English accent, and insisted my school was in England until she let me in.  We saw the sculpture, and it was completely worth my deception.  I’m ordinarily very rule abiding, I swear.  This is one of the more rebellious things I’ve ever done.

1qnamg

Steph @ Lost Purple Quill

A Book Without End

Read By Chris 

Irena @ Books and Hot Tea

17 thoughts on “The One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks for the tag!! Oh my gosh, I totally agree with you about having children. Though I’m not 100% set against having them, if I do it’s definitely adoption. No question. Also, that guard at the Louvre sounded nice, if only he was able to let you in! But I’m glad you got in anyway. I tried to get into the top of the Notre Dame like that but it didn’t work, but it only cost like 5 euros anyway. My European friend was the one who urged me to try to get in without paying because she didn’t have to – I think I would have just rather paid and followed the rules anyway, lol. But getting in without paying just to see a statue is totally worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad we are on the same page!! If I ever do adopt I don’t think I’d adopt a child younger than 10 – I just cannot deal with babies and toddlers, they’re like a different species to me. Older kids are hard to get adopted anyway because most people want a baby (god knows why) so it all works out! I still don’t think I ever will, but I guess you never know.

      5 euros isn’t bad! iirc the Louvre was 15 euros, which was just ridiculous to only go in for about ten minutes when I’d already paid that same amount the day before. I’m normally so rule-abiding, but I’m also cheap, and those two sides of myself were at war, lol! My inner Slytherin won this round.

      I actually didn’t go to the top of Notre Dame, I don’t remember why! I bet it was gorgeous. When I went there was a mass going on for the Assumption of the Virgin, and I’m not religious but it was still pretty cool to see that. I guess I’ll save the roof for my next trip.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha I agree about not adopting a baby too! I’d definitely go for an older child. But we’ll see, it’s not something I’m concerned about right now, lol. And the top of the Notre Dame was a really beautiful view, I definitely recommend. I also went up in the Eiffel Tower, but I preferred the view from the Notre Dame because there you get a really nice view of Paris with the Eiffel Tower in it.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I was just thinking how fortunate I was to not have gone to, say, NYU – I still think ‘Tulane University’ sounds way too American to have been credible in the slightest, but at least I didn’t have to say an American state with an affected English accent and insist it’s actually in England 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I can’t believe I never heard the Louvre story from you before! Totally agree though, that is A Lot to pay for one sculpture though, so I’m glad you managed to get in. That is a beautiful sculpture.

    I am so with you on finding traveling with people more stressful. The last few times I’ve traveled I’ve done it with other people, and it’s generally been great, but I just have the itch to take a trip alone in the near future. It’s especially bad if friends just thrust certain parts of the trip at you for you to plan and then if the hotel, or the seats for the theatre or anything don’t go well I end up feeling really awful about it.

    I hate cooking too. I’m pretty bad – there are a few recipes I can do well but I don’t try anything adventurous and it always feels like a chore. I wish I was one of those people who cooked for fun or stress relief, that would make things so much easier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think Maz or I might have told the story on Tumblr when it happened, idr 😂

      Omg right?! I get SO anxious when I’m traveling with people, even if they’re close friends, I have no idea why but I tend to have the ~leader role in friend groups where I make executive decisions on things and do a lot of the planning (and a lot of the navigating, especially in New York because I’m usually more familiar with NY than the people I’m visiting with), so I’m always so stressed that it won’t go to plan!!! I think it’s funny that traveling solo is thought to be this stressful thing, but I find it so peaceful?! Tbh the best trip I took when I was in Europe was when I flew to Brussels on my own and had to locate the weirdly difficult to find hostel. My friend flew in a few days later to meet up with me, but I was glad I’d done the wandering and hostel hunting alone, I found it all rather serene but imagined that it would have been stressful if I were with someone?!

      I think being a vegetarian helps with the cooking thing, because it’s like…. very nearly impossible to fuck up a veggie meal beyond repair – the recipes are usually not that ambitious. I still don’t like it though!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my god thank you SO MUCH for tagging me <3! Definitely gonna do this as soon as possible once I got time!!
    And I can tell you, not having any siblings and no nosebleeding is related. My little brother once thrust a pencil up my nose so blood just flew out :')))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, and I’ve had nosebleeds in my childhood. One time I had it I refused to listen to my Grandpa to go take a lie down and kept on doing my homework(I was a VERY studious kid)with a wad of tissue paper stuffed up my nose and guess what? When I took it out to change into a new, clean square, a disgustingly long trail of BLOODY SNOT was attached to it like pulling melted cheese from a pizza. I proceeded to smile sheepishly at my Grandpa while he said, ‘I told you so.’

    I thank you for letting me ruin pizza for everyone here 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

