The Goodreads Book Tag

Hey guys!  Sorry I’ve been quiet this week.  I had a friend visiting over the weekend, which was great but reduced my reading/blogging time!  I’ve also been really busy at work lately.  I saw that Amy did this tag and didn’t tag anyone in particular, so I thought it would be a good excuse to check in and update you all on my bookish goings on.

What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins.  Review here!


What are you currently reading? 

Black Swan Green by David Mitchell (at the recommendation of a friend), When The Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen (at the recommendation of another friend), American War by Omar el Akkad (April BOTM), and White Fur by Jardine Libaire (Netgalley).

I have a reading multiple books at once problem.  I’m not terribly far into any of these… I’m definitely the furthest into Black Swan Green, but When the Sea is Rising Red is awfully short so I may end up finishing that one first.  We shall see!  The goal is to finish them all by the end of May.


What was the last book you marked as TBR? 

The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney.


What book do you plan to read next?

One of these.  Gone Without a Trace by Mary Torjussen (won in a Goodreads giveaway), Penance by Kanae Minato (Netgalley), The Leavers by Lisa Ko (May BOTM selection), and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (I don’t own this and have no reason to read it other than that Chelsea may kill me if I don’t!)


Do you use the star rating?

Yes.  It definitely helps me get my thoughts in order.  I wish there were half star options, alas.


Are you doing the 2017 Reading Challenge? 

Yes!  The goal is 60 and I’m already at 41.  I’m secretly hoping I’ll get to 100, but I know if I set my goal at 100 I’ll get so obsessed with finishing it it’ll take some of the fun out of reading, which is why I purposefully set my goal at a number I knew was manageable.


Do you have a wishlist?

Not officially.


What book do you plan to buy next?

I have no idea, I never actually plan to buy books.  I may buy Six of Crows for Kindle, I don’t think I’ll be able to get that one at the library any time soon.


Do you have any favourite quotes? Share a few.

“All great and precious things are lonely.”

John Steinbeck, East of Eden

“It is an illusion that youth is happy, an illusion of those who have lost it; but the young know they are wretched for they are full of the truthless ideal which have been instilled into them, and each time they come in contact with the real, they are bruised and wounded. It looks as if they were victims of a conspiracy; for the books they read, ideal by the necessity of selection, and the conversation of their elders, who look back upon the past through a rosy haze of forgetfulness, prepare them for an unreal life. They must discover for themselves that all they have read and all they have been told are lies, lies, lies; and each discovery is another nail driven into the body on the cross of life.”

W. Somerset Maugham, Of Human Bondage

“Now he got out of bed and wrapped his blanket around himself, yawning. That evening, he’d talk to Jude. He didn’t know where he was going, but he knew he would be safe; he would keep them both safe. He went to the kitchen to make himself coffee, and as he did, he whispered the lines back to himself, those lines he thought of whenever he was coming home, coming back to Greene Street after a long time away – “And tell me this: I must be absolutely sure. This place I’ve reached, is it truly Ithaca?”- as all around him, the apartment filled with light.”

Hanya Yanagihara, A Little Life


Who are your favourite authors/writers?

Too many…..  W. Somerset Maugham, Hanya Yanagihara, Celeste Ng, Donna Tartt, Kazuo Ishiguro, Sylvia Plath, Victor Hugo, Agatha Christie, Daphne du Maurier, Hannah Kent, Lisa See, Min Jin Lee, Martin McDonagh, Brian Friel, Dante, Arthur Rimbaud, Charlotte Bronte.


Have you joined any groups?

Sure, but I don’t keep up with very many.  I actually co-run a bookclub on Goodreads, but it’s a bit of a mess right now.  And I check Top 5 Wednesday every week!


 

Not tagging anyone – do it if you want!  Tag me if you do so I can read your answers.

4 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag

  1. I did the same thing with my goodreads reading challenge- I set it at 50 and am secretly hoping to get through a lot more, but I don’t want to obsess over it. I also like seeing the percentage go over 100, lol. And I definitely support buying Six of Crows, it’s one of my faves!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

