Mystery Blogger Award

I was nominated by the awesome Steph @ Lost Purple Quill for the Mystery Blogger Award – thank you!!  And sorry it took me so long to get around to this!  Anyway, go follow Steph if you don’t already, her blog is great and she is super nice!

mystery-blogger-tag

The Rules: 

  • Put the award logo/image in your post.
  • List all the rules.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and leave a link to their blog.
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  • Nominate 10-20 people and notify them.
  •  Link back to the creator of the award.
  • Ask nominees any 5 questions of your choice, with a weird or funny question.
  • Share the link to your best/favourite post of yours.

3 things about myself

  1. I alluded to this in my Get to Know Me tag, but I have a lot of dental issues.  Basically, I have this genetic condition where I’m missing several of my adult teeth, and I’ve had to have oral surgery four different times to get fake teeth implanted.  With luck I’ll have finished with that, but I actually still have a baby tooth, and if that ever falls out on its own I’ll need to have the procedure done again.  Fingers crossed we can avoid that – it’s expensive and it hurts.
  2. (This is actually related to fact #1, but I’ll spare you the details of how – intrigue!)  I’ve had really severe emetophobia (fear of vomiting) since I was 8.  At its worst it’s been really debilitating to my ability to live a normal life – you would not believe the amount of mental strain a person is under 24/7 when the thing they fear is essentially their own body – but I’ve actually taken anxiety medication to deal with this for several years now, so I think the worst of it is behind me.  Still, it completely sucks.  It also sucks that it’s such a common phobia, but so few people know what it is!  I’ve heard it mentioned more and more in recent years, but when I was in high school I’d never heard of it and couldn’t really put my finger on what exactly was ‘wrong’ with me and that was stressful.  Anyway, the point is, if you have emetophobia, you are not alone!!
  3. Because both of those were kind of negative: I have the two most beautiful cats in the world.  Here they are!

The grey one is Percy and the black one is Lily.  We’ve had them for going on 4 years, but because they’re shelter cats we don’t know their exact ages.  We think Lily’s 7 or 8 now and Percy’s about 5.  Percy’s my baby, he is obsessed with me and follows me around everywhere and sleeps on my bed every night.  Lily’s more independent but she’s also the sweetest thing.  She also has the softest fur of any animal I’ve ever felt.  It’s amazing.  (And contrary to popular belief, Percy was NOT named after Colin Farrell’s character in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.  Percy the cat is the original Percy.)

Steph’s questions:

If you could be a character for a day, who would you like to be?

(I’m putting a moratorium on Harry Potter while answering this, because everyone always says Hermione and while it’s probably true for me, it’s also a really boring answer.)  Anyway, now I’ve got JK Rowling on the brain so I’ll go with Robin Ellacott from her Cormoran Strike series.  I actually haven’t finished this series, but I loved the first book and I think it would be so much fun to see what it’s like working as a private investigator.  And Robin’s clever and intuitive and it would be cool to be her for a day.

What is your dream job?

Probably a novelist.  Just gotta write a novel first.  No biggie, right?

What’s something you used to love, but have no interest in at all now?

Horseback riding.  I was ‘that horse girl’ all through elementary school and part of high school.  I used to have a horse and everything.  He was a white Arabian named Tommy.  We gave him away when I was 17, because I was starting to apply to college and I knew that I wanted to go to college out of state and the logistics of keeping him were getting tricky, especially as I wasn’t horseback riding as often as I used to at that point.  So we gave him to a therapeutic riding school which helps kids with disabilities learn how to horseback ride, and apparently he was a star and everyone loved him.  But he was also really old (in his 20s) so he died a couple of years ago.  He had a good life.  But anyway, to answer your question: horseback riding!  I haven’t done it since I was 17 and probably won’t pick it back up because I’m no longer passionate about it and it is REALLY difficult to do casually (it’s a very all or nothing hobby), but it was fun while it lasted.

What is your first memory?

It’s not very concrete… I just have a really vague memory having to do with being at the beach (I used to live in San Diego).

Do you believe in ghosts? Why or why not?

Haha, I think I just answered this in another survey, but no, I don’t.  I’m just too practical – I don’t believe in anything spiritual or supernatural, it just doesn’t make logical sense to me.  I love the idea of ghosts, though!

My favorite/best post

Hmm.  I’m partial to my review of House of Names by Colm Toibin because it’s a retelling of a story I care a lot about (Clytemnestra murdering Agamemnon when he returns home after the Trojan War), and I feel like I was able to articulate my frustrations with the way Toibin decided to spin his retelling.

My questions!

  1. What’s your favorite book-to-film adaptation and why?
  2. If you had to live in another country for a year, where would you choose?
  3. What’s your favorite board game/card game?
  4. Describe your ideal breakfast in detail.
  5. Which fictional character do you most relate to and why?

Tagging

Chelsea @ Spotlight on Stories // Hadeer @ Hadeer Writes // Callum McLaughlin // Mischenko @ Read Rant Rock & Roll // Ella @ A Book Without End // Cat Mysteries and Coffee // Christina and/or Katie @ Book Nectar // Bentley @ Book Bastion

I don’t think that’s quite ten but close enough.  Obviously feel free to pass if you’d rather not do this.  And if you want to answer my questions but I didn’t tag you, consider yourself tagged!  Just tag me back so I can see your answers.  🙂

Anyway, sorry for not posting many reviews lately – I’ve been sort of busy lately, but I’m hoping to finish a couple of books within the week, so back to your regularly scheduled book reviews soon!

13 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award

  1. I love these answers, and your cats are so cute!! I love cats, lol. I really like your ghost answer- I also love the idea of ghosts and ghost stories, but I don’t quite know if I believe in them. I think I want to believe in them, which is why I’m always curious to hear if people have any personal ghost stories. I don’t really enjoy horror, but I love spooky stuff. Also, yes to the novelist as a dream job. If only the hard part wasn’t actually writing the novel 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cats are THE BEST. I’m pretty obsessed with them. My instagram is like 90% cat photos.

      I know, I agree about ghosts!!!! They are so cool! I actually love horror, but more psychological horror than slasher films and gore. I enjoy being scared by books and films though, so I absolutely love a good ghost story.

      Liked by 1 person

      • YES, psychological horrors are great. I don’t mind a bit of blood and gore, but if a story relies too heavily on it to make it scary, I’m out. I find a thrill in being spooked or creeped out, but not through actual terror.

        Liked by 1 person

      • For some reason I love the feeling of being scared in a controlled environment, but I hate when it’s just gratuitous. So I love stuff like the film The Woman in Black, because that was genuinely terrifying while also being a fantastic and compelling story – and also, ghosts! And I loved Get Out recently, which wasn’t really scary at all but AWESOME psychological horror. Too much blood and gore is just gross and annoying.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh thank you so much for tagging me! Adorable cats, and omg I (think) I know exactly how you feel about the fear for vomiting. I don’t think I have as severe fear so that it’s a phobia, but I am terrifyed of vomiting. If someone starts talking about it, I get nauseated, once I was almost taken to the hospital because I refused to puke so I could hardly breathe, plus I always take care not to get drunk enough to risk vomiting 😂 But shit it’s terrifying D:
    PS, cute cats haha ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my god, nearly being hospitalized sounds pretty serious to me!!!!! I think you’re allowed to call it a phobia at that point. I know what you mean, I’ll literally avoid vomiting at any and all costs even when I rationally know it’ll probably make me feel better. And I do the same thing with taking care to not get too drunk.

      And thank you, I will pass the compliment along to my cats 🐈🐈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

