This or That tag

I was tagged by the fabulous Chelsea to do the ‘This or That’ tag, so here it goes!

Rules:

  • Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you.
  • Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.
  • Tag other people to do this tag to spread the love!

This or That?

Reading on the couch or on the bed?

Couch, but only if no one has the tv on.  I can’t stand reading with background noise.  But yeah, sitting on the couch with a book and a blanket is so relaxing.  Plus I usually end up getting both cats to come hang out with me, whereas only one of them ever comes in my room.  I like to plan my reading around having the maximum possible number of cats in the vicinity.

Male main character or female main character?

Generally speaking, female, especially in genre fiction.  But also a lot of my favorite books are about male characters, so I’m not too picky as long as the character and narrative is well-written.

Sweet snacks or salty snacks?

Salty.  I do not have a sweet tooth at all.  Chips and guacamole all the way.

Trilogies or quartets?

Stand alones?  I mostly read literary fiction, which are rarely a series… but when I do read fantasy, I prefer series to be on the shorter side, so we’ll go with trilogies.

First person POV or third POV?

It’s funny, right at the beginning of the year I hit a streak of maybe 10 or so books in a row which were all first person, and it was starting to drive me crazy by the end.  I just like to mix it up.  If I had to read only one I’d say third person, but I see the merits of both.  I hate when novels mix first and third person though.  I thought Hannah Kent did an exceptional job of this in Burial Rites, but most of the time I find it just doesn’t work.

Reading at night or in the morning?

At night.  I am such a night owl.  It’s a rare day that I’m asleep before 1 am.  On weekends I do like to read in the morning, but I’ll never wake up earlier than I need to on days when I have to work.  So I end up reading late into the night on most weekdays.

Libraries or bookstores?

Both!  If I had to choose though, bookstores.  Browsing bookstores is my favorite thing to do.  And my local library is so small, it’s not a terribly exciting place, but I do have a really fantastic bookstore nearby.  Supporting libraries is so important, though!

Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?

Chelsea, can you guess what I’m going to say??  Can you???  But yeah, books that make me cry.  I like to suffer.  I once described my taste in books and films as ‘if it doesn’t give me an existential crisis, I’m not interested.’

That said, when I say ‘make me cry,’ I rarely actually cry.  I have a Goodreads shelf called ‘I actually cried’ which currently has 3 books: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (The Forest Again chapter gets me every time), All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (That One character death…… ugh. destroyed me.), and A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (to say that I was bawling through the last 200 pages of that book is an understatement – I don’t remember the last time I cried that hard over anything).  I mean, there are probably more from when I was younger, but those are the main ones.  I also have a Goodreads shelf called ‘I’d have cried but I’m heartless’ which… is self-explanatory, I think.  (I’m not heartless, I swear!  It just takes a lot to make me cry!!)

Black book covers or white covers?

Oh, I don’t know!  I’m leaning toward white?  But it depends on the design.

Character driven or plot driven?

Characters, characters, characters.  I mean, would anyone who reads literary fiction answer plot to this question?!  Plot is also important, but if it’s too complex I get bored.  I am all about those characters and relationship dynamics.

I Nominate:

You, if you want to do this!  Just tag me and say that I tagged you!

10 thoughts on “This or That tag

  1. Oh my gosh, yes to reading with cats. I love having my cat literally on top of me as I’m reading, because I like to think we’re bonding, and there’s something about reading with a cat that feels particularly bookish, like I should take a picture of my book and my cat and post it on Instagram or something. Sometimes I’ll go and find him and just bring him to wherever it is I’m reading. But then other times he’ll just walk on top of my book or try to get in front of my face as I’m trying to read…but I never bring myself to push him away, even if I’m verbally telling him to move, haha. And I also 100% agree about reading for characters over plot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly I wish I cried more easily – now when I say ‘I LOVED THIS BOOK IT MADE ME CRY’ my friends are like ‘did it really, Rachel?’ and I’m like ‘okay, well, not literally, but still…’ Hence the ‘I’d have cried but I’m heartless’ shelf.

      Thanks for making the tag, it was a fun one! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

