The Unique Blogger Award

I was nominated by the lovely Charlotte Annelise for the Unique Blogger Award!  Thanks for thinking of me!  And the rest of you should go follow Charlotte, her blog is great (and flowerful)!

unique-blogger-award

The Rules

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award.
  • Ask them 3 questions.

Charlotte’s Questions

1. What is your favourite genre to read and why?

That’s a great question.  It’s hard!  I’m tentatively going to say… classics.  I read a lot of literary fiction and I read a lot of mysteries/thrillers, but I feel like for as many books as I love from those genres, just as many let me down.  But I find that I rarely hate the classics that I read these days – I’m scrolling through my ‘classics’ shelf on Goodreads, and the only thing on the first page that I gave less than three stars to was To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf, which I still sort of appreciated on an academic level, I just found it difficult to get into.  Most of the classics I can think of that I hate are ones that I read in high school, when I was probably too young to get as much out of them as I could have.  Seriously, how is a 16 year old supposed to engage on any level with The Jungle by Upton Sinclair?

2. What is the latest book that you added to your TBR?

peter_and_alice

Peter and Alice by John Logan, because I was chatting with Callum about plays on my review of Twelve Angry Men, and he mentioned really liking this one!  It had already been on my radar because I have a friend who was obsessed with the West End production a few years ago (cast pictured above), but I’m not personally familiar with it and would love to read it.  (And I wish I could have seen that production, because I saw Ben Whishaw as John Proctor in The Crucible last summer and he was phenomenal.)

3. What is your favourite holiday to celebrate (i.e. Christmas, Halloween)?

Christmas, hands down, which is weird because I’m not religious, and my family isn’t really either.  My mom was raised Catholic as she comes from an Irish family, but she doesn’t go to church these days or anything.  But I love the mood of Christmas, I love giving gifts and watching the same two films with my parents every year, and I just love the general aesthetic of it.

I Nominate

My Questions

  1. Who’s your favorite actor/actress and what’s your favorite performance that they’ve ever done?  It can be something you’ve seen on stage, or in a film/television show/etc.
  2. Which book would you most like to see adapted into a film and why?
  3. Talk about and share a picture of your pet(s)!

Obviously feel free to skip it, etc etc, my feelings will not be hurt.  And sorry Chelsea, I’m aware that the first question is going to torture you.

16 thoughts on “The Unique Blogger Award

    • If you ever want any classics recommendations, feel free to ask! It’s such a broad and intimidating genre.

      The other weird thing about me liking Christmas, besides my non-religious upbringing, is that I HATE the winter. But Christmas is such an exception for me for some reason, I just love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’d love to know your favourite classics?
        I really haven’t read many. 🙂

        That’s interesting, I live in Australia so it’s summer during Christmas! I don’t know what I’d prefer but I can’t imagine it being cold haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • My all time favorite is actually Les Miserables – don’t be intimidated by the length, it’s a gorgeous story that will completely suck you in. The same goes for East of Eden by Steinbeck – long but worth it!

        But some less intimidating recommendations that I have loved: The Awakening by Kate Chopin, And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, In Cold Blood by Truman Capote, Of Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham, 1984 by Orwell.

        I can’t imagine it being hot during Christmas!! I live up north, too, so winters are extra cold. I’ve never had a Christmas without snow.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s such a great list, thanks so much!! I’ll go check them out 🙂 In fact the only one I’ve read is In Cold Blood, we had to study it in high school. I’ve heard of Les Miserables, I’ll give it a go!

        It doesn’t even snow here so I can’t even imagine how cold it can get for you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hadn’t read In Cold Blood until last year when I read it for a book club, I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did! I thought it was such an interesting perspective on the case that I hadn’t expected.

        Oh god, it gets so miserably cold, I am envious of your snow-less climate. Then again, I probably wouldn’t be able to handle how hot it gets there!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. 100000% agree about reading some classics too young in school! Even if we’re taught to appreciate it academically, I often feel like school should teach more teenage or kid-friendly books to students and first help them find a love of reading. There are definitely some classics I have unfair biases towards because when I was had to read them I was 15 and and would rather go home and read Harry Potter instead. Or at least, they should focus on classics that have more youthful narratives. Some of my favorite classics I read in high school were To Kill a Mockingbird, Great Expectations, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, etc. and I think a part of that was because they were stories told by younger people figuring out life. I could go on for a long time about this topic, lol. But I love classics much more now!

    Thanks for the tag!! I love those questions, I’m going to have to think hard about the first one!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES totally! I agree completely. The books I couldn’t engage with were things like The Jungle and Heart of Darkness which had themes that were completely inaccessible to someone with hardly any life experience. Actually now that I’m thinking about it the books that resonated with me had really similar themes – The Catcher in the Rye (teen angst, lol!), The Awakening (feminism!), Huck Finn (coming of age) etc. I didn’t read To Kill a Mockingbird until I was 20 but I’m sure I would have loved that in high school too! But yeah, I think high schools need to do a better job of introducing teenagers to more accessible books – I mean, they don’t even have to be YA, in high school my favorite book was Never Let Me Go and something like that would have been really interesting to discuss in class. Classics are obviously important and should definitely be taught, but I feel like it’s often without a very good foundation. Like, my teachers never did a very good job of explaining novels in their historical contexts and explaining WHY exactly they’re so important – I feel like the ones that have stayed with me the longest are the ones where I have an adequate understanding of the context of the book as well as the story. I have a lot of thoughts about this too don’t worry!!

      Yay, I can’t wait to read your answers!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yesss I wish there had been more “why is this important” and less “read this and analyze it.” A part of the reason I love classics is because they’re a window into a different time period, and they have so much to say about the issues of that time period, and how they can relate so much to today. But in grade school, at least, I felt like we were just handed the books with the priority of finding ALL THE SYMBOLISM but not relating it back to life.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, totally!!!! Literature and history should really be taught together more often. I get that it would complicate things for teachers, but something like Uncle Tom’s Cabin I feel like I should have read for a history class. That’s why I love classics too – how they illuminate things about a certain historical period, but also usually have universal truths that can be related back to the present. It’s so cool to be able to engage with classics on those two levels and it’s sad when teachers fail to explain historical significance.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Same here! At first I thought I’d only stick to posting reviews on this blog, but I love learning about other bloggers so I figured I’d do some tags and awards as well on here 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

