book review: A Fugitive in Grass Valley by I.M. Flippy

35388948

 

A FUGITIVE IN GRASS VALLEY by I.M. Flippy
★★★★★
Self-published, June 24, 2017

I think this is the first romance novel I’ve ever read, and let’s be real, probably the last, because romance is decidedly Not My Thing, but I’m going to be honest here. This book was delightful. It’s been a while since I’ve read a book so addicting that I couldn’t resist pulling it up on my phone every time I got a spare ten seconds throughout the day, but here we are.

A Fugitive in Grass Valley tells the story of Lev, part-time artist/part-time barista in a Sacramento suburb, who falls in love with Ernie, a mysterious stranger with a Tragic Past. Okay, so there’s nothing particularly groundbreaking in this premise, but trust me when I tell you that this book is seriously addicting. The characters are endearing, their relationship progresses at a believable pace, the humor is consistently on point, the dialogue is realistic, and even though it’s largely centered on the romance, there’s also a lot going on here, as Ernie’s past as a Marine-turned-mercenary starts to catch up with him. Flippy did a positively impressive amount of research for such a short little novel, and it all comes together in such a satisfying way. I honestly do not have a single negative thing to say about it.

In case you’re still unconvinced, let me reiterate: you do not need to be an avid romance reader to enjoy this book. If you’re a fan of contemporary dramas and compelling characters, there is a very good chance that you’ll also be charmed by it. Sure, it may indulge in a bit more sappiness here and there than the kind of stuff I usually read, which is why I doubt I’m going to make a habit of reading this genre, but there’s nothing wrong with that every now and then. And if you are a fan of the romance genre, even better. Lev and Ernie are a couple worth rooting for if I’ve ever seen one.

A Fugitive in Grass Valley goes on sale tomorrow. Perfect for some light beach reading this weekend.

Amazon || Goodreads || I.M. Flippy

Many thanks to the author for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not influence my opinion in any way.

6 thoughts on “book review: A Fugitive in Grass Valley by I.M. Flippy

  1. This sounds wonderful, I’m totally going to add it to my TBR. I like romance, but I’m skeptical of plots that revolve around it, because usually a dynamic really works for me or it just doesn’t, and if I don’t feel it and the plot is contingent on it it can kill the book for me. But ones that are more character driven I find I enjoy more, so I’m very intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Definitely give it a shot when you are in the mood for something light and fluffy! Again, not the sort of thing I usually go for, but so endearing! I’m the exact same with romance, I’m actually not as coldhearted as I would have people believe and I don’t mind romance every now and then, but when the author is just forcing the romance for the sake of it, I just can’t deal with it. But when the characters are actually realistic and have chemistry 👌👌

      Liked by 1 person

      • I definitely will!! Insta-love and an easy get-together are my worst enemies, but if the characters really grow into their relationship and earn their romance, there’s a far better chance I’ll be into it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh wow a romance rave! This does sound quite charming and like a book I might enjoy when I’m in the mood for something a little lighter, I’ll have to add it to the list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! I never would have thought that I would enjoy this half as much as I did. I was gearing up to write a “this wasn’t my thing, but here are its objective merits” review, but nope. It was just delightful fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

