Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

fullprecovers

Happy 20th anniversary, Harry Potter!  I may not talk a lot about these books on my blog, but to say that Harry Potter changed my life would be an understatement.  I met a lot of my closest friends through a shared love for this series, and these books shaped my life in a pretty big way.  In honor of that, I decided to do this Ultimate Harry Potter tag, which I borrowed from Reads and Dreams.  This tag was created by Isabeau’s Literary Musings.

GENERAL

 1. Favourite book?

Order of the Phoenix.  Which I know is an unpopular opinion, but it’s always been my favorite.  I love how bleak it is but also how hopeful, I love the spirit of resistance in that book, and The Lost Prophecy is one of my favorite chapters ever (probably second only to The Forest Again.)

2. Least favourite book?

Without a doubt, Half-Blood Prince.  Every time I re-read it I like it less and less.  I’m interested in Tom Riddle’s backstory, but not much else.  There’s also too much Dumbledore.  I can’t stand Dumbledore.

3. Favourite movie?

My movie opinions are so unpopular, but it’s got to be Deathly Hallows part 2.  While it wasn’t a technically faithful adaptation, I felt like it captured the spirit of the book in a way that a lot of the other movies didn’t, including Deathly Hallows part 1, which was a very faithful adaptation scene-by-scene but which just lacked something for me.

4 Least favourite movie?

Either Prisoner of Azkaban because I loathe the tone and vibe of that movie, which was trying so hard to be dark and edgy it came across as utterly soulless, or Order of the Phoenix because I think it missed the point of that book entirely.

5 Favourite quote?

The Snitch. His nerveless fingers fumbled for a moment with the pouch at his neck and he pulled it out.

I open at the close.

Breathing fast and hard, he stared down at it. Now that he wanted time to move as slowly as possible, it seemed to have sped up, and understanding was coming so fast it seemed to have bypassed thought. This was the close. This was the moment.

He pressed the golden metal to his lips and whispered, “I am about to die.”

CHARACTERS

6. Favourite Weasley?

This is a weird answer, but actually, Percy.  I think he’s the most interesting and multifaceted, and his redemption arc breaks my heart.  I think it’s important to remember how young he was when he was seduced by this Big Important Job which essentially manipulated him away from his family.  (He is not actually Percy the cat’s namesake, though.)

7. Favourite female character?

It has to be Hermione.  She’s the first character that I felt really connected to, and I admire her bravery and loyalty.

8. Favourite villain?

You know, one of my favorite plot twists in the series has always been the reveal that Goblet of Fire-Moody is Barty Crouch Jr., so I’m going to go with him.  But also Tom Riddle/Voldemort.

9. Favourite male character?

Harry Potter.  Harry Potter always has been and always will be my favorite Harry Potter character.

10. Favourite professor?

McGonagall.  I fucking love her.

WOULD YOU RATHER

11. A, Wash Snape’s hair, or B, spend a day listening to Lockhart rant about himself.

B.  It would be amusing.  Lockhart is actually one of my favorite comedic characters in the series.

12. A, duel an elated Bellatrix, or B, an angry Molly

B.  Bellatrix still scares me too much.

13. Travel to Hogwarts via A. Hogwarts Express or B. flying car.

A.  I’ve always wanted to ride the Hogwarts Express.

14. A, Kiss Voldemort. Or B, give Umbridge a bubble bath.

A., with the caveat that he looks like Christian Coulson as Tom Riddle.

15. A, ride a hippogriff, B, ride a firebolt

B.  I used to horseback ride, and the idea of my horse suddenly flying sounds utterly terrifying.  More control with a firebolt.

BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION

16. Is there a character which you felt differently about in the movies vs books?

While I never even cared about her all that much in the books, the movies utterly destroyed Ginny.

17. Is there a movie you preferred instead of the book?

No.

18. Richard Harris or Michael Gambon as Dumbledore?

Richard Harris, though I’m not sure his performance would have fit the tone of the later films.  I’d be interested to see how that would have worked.  I hate Michael Gambon’s Dumbledore though.

19. Your top thing (person or event) which wasn’t included in the movie that annoyed you most.

Harry’s interview with Rita Skeeter in Order of the Phoenix.  It was such a seminal moment in Harry taking actions into his own hands while everything else was outside his control.

20. If you could remake any of the Potter movies, which would it be?

Order of the Phoenix.  Everything about that movie was wrong.

HOGWARTS

21. Which house was your first gut feeling you’d be a part of?

Ravenclaw.

22. Which house were you actually sorted into on Pottemore (or another online sorting quiz)?

Gryffindor (lol), but on other online quizzes I always get Ravenclaw.

23. Which class would be your favourite?

I have always wanted to try Transfiguration.  But given that I was quite good at Latin in school I think I’d probably be good at Ancient Runes.

24. Which spell do you think would be most useful to learn?

Accio.  Ugh, so much envy for that spell.

25. Which character do you think at Hogwarts you’d instantly become best friends with?

Neville and Hermione.

MISCELLANEOUS

26. If you could own one of the three Hallows, which would it be?

Invisibility Cloak.  There are way more real world applications for that than the other two.

27. Is there any aspect of the books you’d want to change? This can be a character, an event, anything.

This is an obvious answer, but, the epilogue.  I’ve reread the series more times than I can count (at least 10 times each), but I’ve only read the epilogue once.  Once was enough.

28. Favourite marauder?

Remus.  He’s the Harry Potter character I’ve always most identified with, and honestly, the only Marauder who I find very interesting.  I guess I’d like to know more about James.  Peter is vile, and (unpopular opinion to end all unpopular opinions) I cannot stand Sirius.

29. If you could bring one character back to life, which would it be?

Cedric.  This has always been my worst Harry Potter death.

30. Hallows or horcruxes?

Hallows.  I’m a little afraid of anyone who chooses Horcruxes for this.  Unless it’s like, which one you find more interesting.  That’s fair.  Anyone who would choose to make a Horcrux though is scary.

Tagging Steph, Hadeer, Chelsea, and Callum, because I’ve talked to all of you about Harry Potter, but also anyone else who wants to do this!

11 thoughts on “Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

  1. Ahhh this might just be my favorite tag ever. I love all your unpopular opinions- Order of the Phoenix is so fantastic and it pains me when people say they don’t like it because it’s too angsty or whatever. I love it and I love the end of that one (WHY didn’t they put the scene where Harry’s breaking things in Dumbledore’s office in the movie?? I also totally agree about the movie- it feels like a giant montage to me.)

    THAT QUOTE. I have a different one that’s my fave, but I so want to steal that one, it’s definitely one of the best. The Forest Again is probably my favorite chapter in all the books.

    I love that Percy is your favorite Weasley. I hardly hear people say they like him, never mind that he’s their favorite. But I’ve always felt for him and I love his redemption arc SO MUCH. He’s so interesting. And in the earlier books some of his staunchness makes me laugh.

    About Sirius- THANK YOU. I don’t hate him, but he gets on my nerves so much. I understand his deal and his complexity, but….his recklessness and his expectations for Harry really bugged me.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OMG are we the same person or something?! This is crazy.

      But YES I LOVE OotP SO MUCH and ugh I hate when people say that Harry was too angsty in that book, like for one thing he really didn’t even yell that much, and for another thing it was totally justified imo?! Oh my god you are SO RIGHT about that movie feeling like a montage. I haven’t watched that one in such a long time but I remember feeling like it just never slowed down, it all felt so rushed and like it glossed over all these important things and WHERE WAS THE LOST PROPHECY CHAPTER UGHHHH. Oh and OF ALL THINGS TO INCLUDE they have to include fucking Grawp, which was the most pointless subplot ever.

      Oh my god, The Forest Again DESTROYED ME like nothing fiction ever has before. I literally had to put the book down and walk away and gather myself before continuing, it was just So Much. Ugh that quote. I love Harry so much 😭

      YES I LOVE PERCY. And he’s so hilarious in the first books! I’ve honestly never been terribly invested in most of the Weasleys?! I like them of course but they’re not my absolute favorite characters….. but Percy just really breaks my heart for some reason. The fact that he reconciled with Fred only moments before Fred’s death kills me 😭 I think about how he must live with the regret of what he did for the rest of the life and it’s so tragic.

      OH MY GOD I HATE SIRIUS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!! Like on some level I obviously feel sorry for him for all the horrible things he’s been through, but the way he goads Harry into dangerous situations because ‘James would have done it’ is so fucking immature. He’s never a good guardian to Harry and I feel like the narrative never really calls him out for it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I love how frustrating OotP can be, it builds up so much momentum going into the war in the last two books. Harry’s 15 and he just witnessed death and the return of Voldemort, the boy deserves some slack. And I loved his anger, anyway. Very justified!

        The Forest Again gets me every single time I read it. I just have no words. I remember reading the ending of that book for the first time in the middle of my bedroom floor because I couldn’t confine myself to a chair, I was so overwhelmed, hahah.

        I wish I could have been in on some of these discussions the movie people had in deciding what was going into the movie and what wasn’t. I just want an explanation about some things. Just like, who said they shouldn’t include the last prophecy chapter and why people agreed. What happened to Ginny. Why did they make Harry and Hermione dance in DH part 1. They had A+ material right in front of them, what went wrong?

        I love Percy’s return SO MUCH, and it made Fred’s death so much sadder, omg. It’s so easy to forget just how young Percy is during all of this.

        I think when I was younger I kind of just went along with all the love for Sirius, but then once I reread a bit later I was like, WOW he is SO FRUSTRATING. I think he embodies a combination of qualities that get on my nerves about Gryffindor characters, especially the short temper. I HATE when he compares Harry to James with the risk taking, and how Harry feels all bad about it. But I can appreciate that Sirius essentially led himself to his own downfall with how he treated Kreacher, especially after he tells Harry that if he wants to know what a man’s like, look at how he treats his inferiors. That’s some good stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      • YES the fact that OotP is so frustrating is completely the point, I love how the tension builds and builds and culminates in that incredible scene with Harry throwing stuff around Dumbledore’s office UGH COULDN’T THAT HAVE BEEN IN THE FILM. ‘What happened to Ginny’ I KNOW!!! It’s almost like they forgot to film scenes with Ginny at all after the second movie, and then in post-production they remembered she existed so they awkwardly photoshopped her into like four scenes and called it a day. God I would love to know what kind of discussions went on to allow stuff like that.

        Agreed, I didn’t mind Sirius so much when I was younger but every time I read the books I like him less and less. Very good point though, I love the narrative irony of Sirius’ treatment of Kreacher leading to his death. I just hate the way fandom holds him on a pedestal like he was exactly the sort of father figure Harry needed at that point, when he always just treated Harry like an insert for James. Which is tragic in its own way, but when you have an adult and a child who have an unhealthy dynamic like Harry and Sirius had, I have limited pity for the adult in the situation.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t even understand why movie Harry fell in love with movie Ginny, or why anyone would?? They took all the fire out of her. Honestly though the only Weasley that I felt consistently lived up to the Weasley fire in the movies was Mrs. Weasley. I especially think they let too much of Rupert’s personality bleed into Ron, he was way too mellow for me in the later movies. But I 100% blame the movie people for Ginny, I felt like they hardly gave Bonnie Wright a chance to even try to play her.

        I think as children it’s easier to see and accept Sirius as this cool guy that can finally be the parent that Harry craves, but reading more critically as an adult and seeing him still held on that pedestal is so frustrating. Now the thought of him taking in 13 year old Harry at the end of PoA after 12 years in prison with no growth in maturity is pretty appalling. I think you kind of see the struggle in Lupin, though, that he still wanted to hold on to the best friend he once had, but when Sirius dies, it’s almost like he’s not even surprised. I might have to reread OotP again to really get a better sense of that, though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • YES I totally agree about Ron/Rupert, I think he started out the strongest actor in the trio but due to a combination of terrible writing for his character and kind of lackluster performance in the later films, he really faded into the background. I do blame a lot of it on writing, though. That scene you were talking about where Hermione hugs Harry before going into the forest and Ron just hangs back….. don’t even get me started.

        Oh my god Remus’s reaction to Sirius’s death just breaks my heart. I always wished JKR had made them a couple. But even as friends it was just devastating how resigned Remus was. The only thing that ever upsets me about Sirius’s death is how it affects Harry and Remus.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow I totally missed the 20th anniversary! With how busy I’ve been with work/school this week I totally lost track of time. It feels so strange for this to not have been a significant part of my day.

    Thank for tagging me! Fingers crossed I will get to this soon.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

