Summer Reader Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Reads and Dreams for the Summer Reader book tag – thank you!  Tag created by islandOFbooks.

Lemonade: Pick A Book That Started Off Bitter But Then Got Better

mohsin-hamid-exit-west-novel-refugees

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid.  It took me about 30% to really get into this book, but I’m so glad I stuck with it, because I ended up giving it 5 stars.  It was a slow start and too focused on romance initially for my taste, but it ended up being one of the most harrowing things I’ve ever read.  This book is the reason I don’t DNF.

Golden Sun: Pick A Book That Made You Smile Beyond Compare

harry_potter_and_the_sorcerer27s_stone

As if there’s any other answer to this question… I don’t read a lot of happy fiction, but Harry Potter will always make me smile.  Especially the first one, before the series takes a turn for the darker.

 

Tropical Flowers: Pick A Book Set In A Different Country

pillars-of-the-earth

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.  I could have chosen just about anything for this category… scrolling through my book cover images just now, I realized that I actually rarely read books set in America.  I randomly stopped scrolling and landed on this one, Follett’s historical epic set in medieval England.

Tree Shade: Pick A Book Where A Mysterious Or Shady Character Is Introduced

20170404

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.  In this phenomenal post-apocalyptic novel about a pandemic that wipes out civilization as we know it, a host of fascinating characters weaves in and out of the narrative.  One of these characters is a mysterious man known only as ‘the Prophet,’ whose identity plays a key role in the story.

Beach Sand: Pick A Book That Was Grainy And The Plot Never Developed

51mh8qgdc4l-_sx329_bo1204203200_White Fur by Jardine Libaire.  The ‘plot’ in this novel was feeble at best.  It’s just 300 pages of two deeply unlikable people having really awkward sex, and… that’s it, that’s the book.

 

Green Grass: Pick A Character That Was Full Of Life Making You Smile

9781250098221Sophie Ducel from Castle of Water by Dane Huckelbridge.  Even though Sophie’s just survived a plane crash and lost her new husband, she’s got such a fiery personality that she’s consistently the most engaging and unpredictable part of this charming and heartbreaking novel.

 

Watermelon: Pick A Book That Had Some Juicy Secrets

26233572

I See You by Clare Mackintosh.  This book is full of twists and turns – some predictable, some not so much – but the final secret revealed on the very last page of this novel literally made my jaw drop.

 

Sun Hat: Pick A Book With A Vast Universe

23437156

I’m going with one of my current reads, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (which I am reading maddeningly slowly – apologies to everyone who’s holding their breath on my rating for this one).  The universe that Bardugo created in her Grisha series and which she expands on in Six of Crows is insane – so thorough and richly detailed, comprising so many different cultures and languages.

BBQ: Pick A Book In Which A Character Is Portrayed As A Hunk

1371

My first thought was ‘I don’t read enough romance to answer this’ and my second thought was ‘Achilles and Hector.  Duh.’  Leave it to me to choose the Iliad for a category like this.

 

Summer Fun: Pass The Tag On!

Sorry to be boring, but, I tag: you, if you’re reading this and it looks fun!  Pingback to me so I can read your answers!

3 thoughts on “Summer Reader Book Tag

    • That is one book that challenged my ‘never DNF’ resolution if there ever was one. I somehow managed to finish it but I suffered. Honestly one of the most pretentious and overwritten things I have ever forced myself to read. I’m so glad you agree.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

