The Cookie Book Tag

Tagged by the lovely Books Teacup and Reviews – cheers!  Sorry for all the tags lately, every time I catch up they just keep coming.  They’re fun though, so oh well.  Here we go.

suntag_-the-cookie-book-tag

Rules:

  1. In addition to linking back to the person who tagged you, it would be awesome if you link back to Nicole’s original post!
  2. Pick a book that corresponds to the cookie’s ‘theme’.
  3. Have fun!
  4. Tag one to three people.

Chocolate Chip: A classic book that you love or really enjoyed

12912I always talk about Les Mis and The Iliad, so now for something different (sort of): The Aeneid by Vergil.  I first read this in Latin in my senior year of high school, and I fell in love with the story.  I’ve since read it… three more times, I think (occupational hazard of majoring in Italian literature), and it never fails to captivate me.

Thin Mints: A fandom that you really want to ‘join’ and/or a hyped-up book you want to read (Your source(s) of a book being hyped can be from anywhere.)

29751398I’m kind of over joining fandoms – after years in the Harry Potter and Les Mis fandoms, now I just lurk whenever I find something new I enjoy.  So to answer the second half of the question: The Power by Naomi Alderman.  I’ve heard mixed things, but this book has gotten a lot of buzz this year along with winning the Bailey’s prize for 2017, so I am very curious.

Shortbread: An author you can’t get enough of

Agatha Christie.  I’ve read these four so far this year, and I don’t intend on stopping any time soon!  She’s so clever.  So far I’ve been shocked by all of the reveals in these books.

Samoas/Caramel DeLites: An emotional rollercoaster

michaud-the-subversive-brilliance-of-a-little-life-320A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara.  There is no other answer to this question.  This book dug well beneath my heartless exterior and completely and utterly destroyed me.  I sobbed, I lost sleep, you name it.  But there’s also light in all this darkness; there’s something undeniably beautiful about the kind of love that’s depicted in these pages.  But mostly it just hurt a lot.

Oreos: A book whose cover was better than the story, or vice versa, where the story was better than the cover

307539872038303Cover better than the story: The Leavers by Lisa Ko.  I was incredibly underwhelmed by this book.  But I’m glad I own the hardcover, because look at how gorgeous.

Story better than the cover: Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault.  There’s a better cover, but this is the edition I own.  Woe.

Tagalongs/Peanut Butter Patties: A book that wasn’t what you expected (Good, bad, or just different, interpret how you wish.)

3279625351gy2mlxabl-_sx328_bo1204203200_Better than I expected: Final Girls by Riley Sager.  I just finished this last night and wrote a review today, so I have to give it a shout out.  I figured that anything that Stephen King calls ‘the first great thriller of 2017’ is bound to be overrated (nothing against Stephen King’s tastes – I just doubted that something could live up to such a tall order).  But it was awesome.

Worse than I expected: All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood.  This is a contentious choice: people love this book.  I didn’t.  Sorry 😦  I was uncomfortable with the treatment of the subject matter, and underwhelmed by the writing.

 

Snickerdoodles: A book you may never stop re-reading/loving

Obviously.

Not tagging anyone.  Do it if you want!

One thought on “The Cookie Book Tag

Leave a Reply

