top 5 tuesday: Book Worlds I Want to Live In

This month’s Top 5 Wednesday prompts aren’t really up my alley, so I’m going to temporarily jump ship and do a couple from Top 5 Tuesday, hosted by Bionic Book Worm. We’re starting out with a sort of difficult one, because I don’t read a lot of fantasy, but let’s see what I can come up with!

AUGUST 1ST – Top 5 book worlds I want to live in

3Harry Potter.  I mean, this is almost too obvious to even mention, but I have to say it anyway.  There is no fictional universe that I have ever wanted to be a part of more than the Harry Potter world.  Touring the Leavesden Studio in London was one of the most magical experiences of my life.  (Tragically, I was always too practical to be ‘waiting for my Hogwarts letter.’  I knew it was fictional.  Kid me wasn’t much of an idealist.)

11388429When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen.  I had some problems with this book, but one thing is for sure: I loved the atmosphere.  This is a vaguely Victorian paranormal fantasy with a moody, evocative, sultry vibe, and it was awesome.  I mean, granted, I’d much rather be rich in this universe than poor, but that’s true of most places, isn’t it?

 

9361589The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  I read this book almost two years ago, and I still can’t decide what I thought of it.  Sometimes I think it’s gorgeous and compelling and beautiful, and sometimes I think it’s underdeveloped and overrated.  But again, there is absolutely no arguing that the atmosphere in this novel is stunning.  I don’t even like ‘circus stories,’ usually, but damn did I ever want to dive straight into these pages and visit the Night Circus.

51yqc21t3nl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault.  This is usually my answer to the ‘which historical period would you visit’ question.  What I wouldn’t give to go back in time and see Alexander the Great in action.  He’s a historical figure who’s practically become mythologized, so you can’t help but to be curious about what the real person was like.

 

30319086If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio.  I can’t help it, I love the aesthetic of elite academia.  I would love so much to attend Dellecher Classical Conservatory, Rio’s fictional school of higher education, where students study theatre, Shakespeare, dance, art, etc…  I can’t remember if classical languages is a department at Dellecher, but if it is, that’s definitely what I would do.  Continuing my studies of Latin in a vaguely pretentious environment like that is the aesthetic dream.

Which fictional universes do you want to be a part of?  Comment and let me know!

17 thoughts on “top 5 tuesday: Book Worlds I Want to Live In

  1. Thanks so much for participating!! I’ll add you to the participants list 🙂
    There are quite a few people adding Harry Potter and The Night Circus on their list (myself included) – if only these places could be real – they would be filled with book worms!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for doing this meme! The prompts this month are great. I’m really looking forward to the retellings one.

      Harry Potter and The Night Circus are both so magical! Most of the fantasy I’ve read have really depressing universes (sorry GRR Martin but I do not want to live in Westeros) but both of those are so fun and inviting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I almost put The Night Circus on mine! I’m not into circuses either but the atmosphere and the brand of fantasy that book had was fantastic. Even just the way the author described the food was so appealing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh that’s such a great question… I think it would have to be the model of Hogwarts! Though that moment of first stepping into the Great Hall was also brilliant… Dumbledore’s office also stands out to me as being one of the cooler set designs. Also seeing all the costumes… Basically everything!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YES to the Harry Potter world. How cool would that be?! (And I’d love to meet the characters from the series too. xD It would be a blast spending time with Harry, Ron, and Hermione.) Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is hilarious. My wife just asked me yesterday which era I’d want to visit, and I said I would like to go back and visit Alexadria before it was destroyed.

    I love that you’ve read Fires from Heaven! I’ve had that on my bucket list forever. Alexander is soooo interesting. How great is it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my god, what I wouldn’t give to visit the Library of Alexandria.

      Fire from Heaven was absolutely incredible. I mean, I’ll be honest, there were a few bits that I had to slog through because Renault’s prose is DENSE which is less than exciting while she’s recounting military strategy for like 15 pages straight, but it is such a beautifully written and compelling account of Alexander. Even though she invents a lot of details from his childhood, it’s still so thoroughly researched and comes across as a really authoritative account, fictional though certain bits may be. Very highly recommended if you’re a big Alexander fan. I’ve been meaning to start The Persian Boy for months now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think I got my (exceptionally ugly) copy from Thriftbooks, but there appear to be a few different editions on Book Depository too if you are so inclined.

        I think I saw it in The Strand once but otherwise can’t remember seeing it in a bookstore either. Very strange.

        But yeah, that’s a good call! I think it took me 3 months to read, so longer than Les Mis, actually…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

