top 5 wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

Top Five Wednesday was created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. Check out the goodreads group to learn more.

April 26th: Authors You Want to Read More From: Talk about some authors that you’ve only read one or a few books from, and you NEED to read more!

For this week’s topic I decided to focus on authors who’ve only written one or two books, as opposed to prolific authors like Shakespeare who I should get around to reading more of one of these days. Instead, all of the authors I’ve chosen I hope will publish more in the future!  Also, all women, because why not.

rehost2f20162f92f132f299a903d-6b20-45a5-a38d-37370b6d0286

Hanya Yanagihara: Of her two novels, The People in the Trees and A Little Life, I’ve only read the latter, but it had such a profound effect on me that I won’t even hesitate to call her one of my favorite authors. I’ve heard mixed reviews of The People in the Trees but I do intend to get around to it one of these days. Regardless, anything she publishes in the future I won’t even hesitate to pre-order.  Her prose flows with an effortless beauty, and the characters she creates are flawed and sympathetic.  A Little Life was almost painfully bleak and difficult to read, but it was also one of the most beautiful stories I’ve ever read.

 

994Hannah Kent: Kent’s debut novel Burial Rites was published in 2013, and her sophomore novel, The Good People, comes out in the fall in the US. I’m really looking forward to it. With Burial Rites, Kent managed to combine historical and literary fiction – two of my favorite genres – to create a story that was both atmospheric and emotionally devastating. I absolutely loved it and can’t wait to read her new one.

 

celeste-ng-c-kevin-day-photographyCeleste Ng: Another one with a new novel coming out in the fall! Ng’s debut, Everything I Never Told You, was an absolutely outstanding little book, which I found to be a masterclass in intricate storytelling. I actually have an e-galley of her new novel, Little Fires Everywhere, and I can’t wait to get around to it! I think even if I hate it (which I doubt I will), I’ll still read anything Ng does in the future, because an outstanding novel like Everything I Never Told You can’t possibly be a fluke. This woman is a genius.

 

caitedolanleach.jpgCaite Dolan-Leach: Her debut, Dead Letters which I read recently, is the quintessential ‘love it or hate it’ kind of book – but I loved it. I thought Dolan-Leach’s writing was so clever, and it suited the story flawlessly. She had such a distinct style in this book, and I’m mainly curious to see if and how she’d change it up in the future.  Also, as Dead Letters was a ‘literary mystery,’ I’m curious which of those two genres she’ll pursue in the future, or if she’ll continue on with more literary-mystery hybrids.  Whatever she decides to do, I’m sure I’ll love it.

 

nightshotsmallerKatharine Beutner: And finally, a relatively unknown author… Beutner’s debut, Alcestis, a lesbian retelling of the Euripides play of the same name, was published in 2010, and she hasn’t come out with anything since. I didn’t love Alcestis unconditionally, but I thought Beutner’s prose was outstanding and she showed so much promise for a new writer. Plus, I’m really interested in retellings of Greek mythology (and especially retellings such as this one which included an LGBT twist as well as a lot of feminist aspects), so if she decides to write something similar in the future, I would love to read it!

Which authors do you guys hope will publish more in the future?  Or, alternately, which published authors do you hope to read more from?  Comment and let me know!

14 thoughts on “top 5 wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

  1. I completely agree about Celeste Ng, and I can’t wait until I can finally read Little Fires Everywhere! You are so lucky to have an advanced copy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhhh I know I almost died when I got it, I can’t believe it’s taking me this long to read it but I have so many other things I need to finish first!! This eternal struggle.

      But yay I’m so glad you also loved EINTY, it was one of the best things I read last year and Celeste Ng deserves all the praise. I couldn’t get over how moving and intelligent that book was.

      Like

    • Poor Dead Letters, I really think that book has suffered for being marketed as a thriller when it was more of a literary character study. But I’m glad you also liked it! I found it so compelling and I loved Dolan-Leach’s prose. She’s definitely one to watch out for.

      And thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I obviously totally agree on the authors I’ve read from the list. Hannah Kent is a good choice as well, I need to get to her next novel! Do you think Dead Letters is something I would enjoy? It sounds interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • HMMMM you know I’m not sure!!! I could see you going either way. The main thing to keep in mind is that it’s more of a character study than a mystery. And you have to be okay with reading about horrible people being horrible to each other – there’s a lot of that. BUT I found the main character majorly sympathetic (she had this whole fear of intimacy thing that made me go ‘oh god this is me yikes!!!’) and her relationship with her twin sister was super compelling. The prose was also really clever. It was borderline pretentious, but kind of in a facetious way? It’s hard to describe, but it suited the story and the character so well. Definitely one to keep in mind when you’re next in a literary mood!

      Like

      • Oh that’s really interesting! I’m generally okay with horrible people doing horrible things as long as there’s some window of sympathy or the other parts of the novel are that good. I did really like Secret History and gave it four stars, and I enjoy character studies. I’ll keep Dead Letters in mind for my next literary mood for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

    • I actually think you’re in very good company with A Little Life! It’s rated high on Goodreads, but I personally know a lot more people who hated it than loved it. It’s the most polarizing book I’ve ever read for sure – it elicits such big reactions that it’s hard to fall somewhere in the middle, you definitely either love it or hate it. It also gets the distinction of being the only book I’ve ever read where I finished, thought to myself ‘I LOVED that’… and then immediately messaged several people and told them to never under any circumstances read this book, because I knew they’d hate it and it would be an unnecessarily painful read.

      And that’s too bad about The Good People, I’ve been hearing from a couple of people that it doesn’t live up to Burial Rites, which is a shame, but I’ll still go into it with an open mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

